Thai Green Curry

I’ve always enjoyed cooking, but it wasn’t until Shauna Niequist and my Food and Wine magazine subscription that I really kicked it up a notch. Shauna makes me feel like I’m not a complete idiot when trying to cook, and Food and Wine has been the catalyst in sparking some creativity and easing me out of my comfort zone. And by “sparking creativity” I mean that I’m more inclined to make food worthy of being photographed. Because that is the ultimate goal, right? Of course it is. Let’s move on.

This week I made Thai green chicken curry. This was something I have only ever had in Dublin and London, but it was something I ordered almost everywhere I went. The balance between the curry spice and the sweetness of the coconut was perfect. And because I’m not a food blogger or an actually good photographer, I’ll just give you the recipe.

Also fair warning: I am not a measurer or a timer. So if you need better measurements or accurate time estimates, I will fail you. 

Ingredients:

Chicken tenders

Bell peppers

1 onion

2 garlic cloves

Chopped ginger

Bag of spinach

1 can coconut cream (or milk)

1 cup of rice

Soy sauce

Rice vinegar

Thai green curry sauce (Trader Joes didn’t have curry paste, so I used this)

Olive oil or sesame oil

Salt/pepper

Instructions:

  1. Start rice according to instructions on whatever rice you by. This takes the most amount of time, so its helpful to get this going soon.
  2. Cook chicken. I sprinkled salt and pepper on either side of each chicken tender, and cooked in a skillet with a little bit of oil.
  3. Cook chopped onion, garlic, and ginger in a pan with a little bit of oil. After the onions start to soften, add bell peppers. Other recipes call for chopped asparagus or carrots, so you can probably get creative with this step. As this cooks, start the sauce.
  4. In a smaller sauce pan, simmer the coconut cream, a little bit of water, and half the jar of Thai Green Curry Sauce (or paste from Trader Joes). I added a few red pepper flakes for an extra kick.
  5. As the sauce is simmering for a few minutes, throw in a few handfuls of spinach to your peppers and onions, and stir and let the spinach wilt just a bit. Remove from heat. Stir in a little bit of soy sauce and rice vinegar to season.
  6. To serve: layer rice + veggies + chicken + curry sauce into a bowl, and you are DONE. So easy. AND delicious.

FullSizeRender (9)

I also shamefully remembered I wanted to add green onions and cilantro, but completely forgot. So give that whirl if you’re feeling adventurous. I also don’t think some lime juice would go amiss, or some additional red pepper flakes. But feel free to experiment with flavors that you really like, rather than ones I really love. I promise you’ll be happier that way. Deal?

Leave a Reply

