Building Balance

About a year and a half ago, I started working out at a Barre3 studio in my part of town. Before getting pregnant with Rowan, I had done a variety of bootcamp-style workouts, and had always loved the intensity of them. But once Rowan was born via c-section, I was desperate to get back in shape in a way that would continue to let my body heal.

When I first started doing Barre3, it took me awhile to really build my strength up. The workout itself involves a great warm-up, isometric holds, small, 1 inch movements that work deep in your muscles, and then bigger movements that build more functional strength for day-to-day life.  This recipe is one that I found was so key to helping my body rebound after having a baby. With the endless modifications, I was able to adjust each portion of the class to what I could handle, all while still being incredibly challenged by the moves. I loved targeting specific muscle groups in a variety of ways, knowing that I was intentionally shaping each part of my body in a more feminine way.

But what I didn’t expect was the impact Barre3 would have on my mental health. Not only did I reap the benefits of a stronger body, but having a stronger body gave me better posture, more energy, improved digestion, a clear mind, and a motivation to make healthier choices for myself each day.

Barre3 also created space in class to remind myself to be thankful for the work my body accomplished, creating a habit of increased thankfulness every day. And so I started talking to Rowan about what we were thankful for in each day before bed, sending her to sleep with positive reflections of her day.

Barre3 seems to have had a positive impact on so many areas of my life, and it was developed with just that in mind. To help people lead a balanced, happier life. So if you need help getting out of a mental slump, you need a low-impact workout after an injury or pregnancy, or you just want to have more energy for your day-to-day life, give Barre3 a shot. You’ll be amazed at the holistic changes it produces, enabling you to be more fully you each and every day.

 

10696214_10103694803441130_6767638784065165470_n

Leave a Reply

